jump to navigation

Feb 1: The Obstacle is the Path March 3, 2012

Posted by Living Abundance in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

And I’m off! I’m excited for the project to be underway, I can feel a sense of online community with all of the blogs.

During this morning’s meditation, my mind was pretty busy, and it wasn’t until well after beginning my sit that I was able to get through the four mindful breathing exercises:

Breathing in, I am aware of my in breath. Breathing out, I am aware of my out breath.

Breathing in, I follow my in breath all the way in. Breathing out, I follow my out breath all the way out.

Breathing in, I am aware of my whole body. Breathing out, I calm my whole body.

Breathing in, I am aware of tension in my body. Breathing out, I release tension in my body.

I actually started to silently laugh to myself as I discovered what thoughts were coming up during my meditation: This meditation challenge! And here I thought this challenge would be good for my practice, but here it is “getting in the way” of my practice. What a hilarious oxymoron this is that I come across regularly: thinking about meditation is getting in the way of my meditation. But its fascinating to note how humour and the ability to laugh or poke fun at myself comes more easily when I am mindful. Most people consider me to have quite a serious personality, which is partly true, but my sense of humour does exist!

In all, I had a hard time concentrating, but I was aware of the difference between forcing myself to concentrate using self-judgement and self-criticism, versus trying to do it gently and lovingly, reminding myself of the benefits.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

What are your thoughts?

