jump to navigation

Feb 7: Trying to Slow Down March 3, 2012

Posted by Living Abundance in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I had a difficult sit this morning because I was unable to get in a comfortable sitting position. My body felt like it could get stable or ever be fully relaxed, and pains in my back were sore for most of the sit. I didn’t last until the time I set for 30 minutes but came up a few minutes short.

I didn’t really get a chance to get concentrated at all, and wasn’t really able to feel the breath. I found that my mind really didn’t want to stay on the sensations of the breath in the body, but instead would run off somewhere else as soon as it was placed on the breath.

Nevertheless, I didn’t get too upset about it. I just recognized that sitting for the amount of time that I did was an accomplishment in and of itself, and that there will be good sessions and bad sessions, but they all even out in the end.

After a hectic and stressful day yesterday, I tried my absolute best to slow down and not be in a rush today. I found myself smiling when the lyrics to an old country song I heard as a kid popped into my mind:

“I’m in a hurry to get things done,
Oh, I rush and rush until life’s no fun
All I really gotta do is live and die,
But I’m in a hurry and don’t know why”

It seemed my efforts paid off because I didn’t feel like I was running around in a hectic pace today, but instead just took my time with what needed to be done. What a difference slowing down makes when I am actually able to see the lively birds on the neighbours’ shrubs and the clear, bright moonlight shining in a huge, starry sky.

One other thing I wanted to share is just a simple moment of compassion in my day. I was walking down a hallway to one of my classes and passed a student in the hallway. I didn’t recognize her, but saw that she had a pained look on her face, and I felt a surge of compassion: May you be free from your worries. Its just amazing how moments like that can simply arise without trying, and how good I can feel afterward. I walked the rest of the way to my class with a smile on my face.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

What are your thoughts?

