jump to navigation

Feb 8: Looking at the Big Picture March 3, 2012

Posted by Living Abundance in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

My body was a bit sore today during my sit but my mind wasn’t as reactive to the soreness and the pain. I found that I was able to get fairly well concentrated, and it was easy to notice when my mind went off story-telling, I was able to catch it fairly soon before it got out of hand. I think I had a good sit in part because I woke up with a pretty quiet mind, except for a song I had in my head since yesterday. This could be due to going to bed with a pretty quiet mind without too many pressing worries floating around, so perhaps this morning was just a carry over from the previous night.

When the bell went off at the end of my sit I was thinking about how to make butternut squash soup with the half of a squash sitting in my fridge.

After my sit, I remembered to say a few lines from the five remembrances:

“I am of the nature to die, I have not gone beyond dying
I am of the nature to age, I have not gone beyond aging
I am of the nature to be ill, I have not gone beyond illness”

I like to say these lines right when I get up in the morning as a way to frame my day. It helps to keep things in perspective because it puts a big picture perspective on the worries and concerns I come across in my daily life. I notice that I often get bogged down in the details, and overwhelmed by the small things, but with reminders like these I realize that a lot of these little petty things are really not all that important in the grand scheme of things.

I think this big picture perspective was on my mind because of an instance late last night where I came across a couple in an intense conversation who failed to notice the beautiful full moon shining in the sky directly in front of them. I wondered, Whatever you’re talking about, is it so important that you miss the beauty directly in front of you? For me it is important to notice the beauty and the wonders of life all around me in all moments of my life, because to me that is what being alive is about. I think having this perspective can help keep me from getting too anxious and worried about my work or about trying to accomplish a specific end goal.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

What are your thoughts?

