jump to navigation

Poem: I am not a facebook profile October 18, 2012

Posted by Living Abundance in poetry.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I am not a facebook profile

I am not a profile picture

I am not a status update

I am not a series of status updates

I am not my likes

I am not my pages

I am not my relationship status

whatever a domestic partnership means anyway

I am not a gender binary category

slotted into either her or his

I am not  what TV shows I watch

I am not what movies I am going to see

I am not my favourite quote

 

I am not what music I listen to

I am not what books I read

I am not my webpage

I am not my blog

I am not my photo album

I am not what clothes I wear

I am not Gap, Levi’s, Plum, or H&M

I am not what car I drive

I am not Ford, Hyundai, or Mitsubishi

I am not the places I’ve travelled

I am not Thailand, Ireland, or France

little plastic magnets covering a fridge door

I am not what sports I play

I am not my religious or spiritual preferences

when you’re all spiritual but not religious anyway

I am not what I eat

low-fat, high-carb, gluten-free, locally-sourced

I am not my corporate sponsor

I am not Nike Adidas New Balance Reebok

I am not my disorder, my special label

I am not lactose-intolerant, seasonally-affective, bipolar

 

Who the heck am I?

Am I this body?

These eyes, this hair, this skin?

Am I my story?

My manufactured past?

My carefully planned future?

Am I what I do, my repeated actions, day by day, moment after moment?

Who am I?

Who is this?

What is this?

 

Well that’s easy:

Put down your cell phone

Close your laptop

take out the earbuds

shut off the TV

 

Breathe in.

 

Breathe out.

 

Open your eyes.

 

Stay

HERE

a while and let’s find out

Comments»

1. Brian - October 18, 2012

once again, nicely said!


What are your thoughts?

